top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRae Anderson

My little mimpi - a homage to my dreams coming true

My little mimpi is a reference to my world in this moment. I have many goals and dreams that I thought would be just that. Dreams. I have always worked hard and been driven by my dreams but of course, some karma and luck have to align with hard work and dedication for dreams to come true.


Which brings me to 'my little mimpi'. Mimpi is a play on words and a tribute to my little yacht that I call my second home. The play on words being mimpi, which translates to dream in English. For as long as I can remember, I always dreamed of living on a yacht, not sailing the world, but just living, and being present on and near the ocean. Although yachts can be expensive, so Mimpi stayed a dream. Until recently, when luck, hard work and a lot of support from family and friends aligned.


To clarify, I grew up on boats my whole life. I could swim before I could walk, I could sail before I even knew what an L plate was, and I could throw a motored dinghy around a bay like it was a quad bike in mud. Living on a yacht was relative to my childhood. We all but lived at our local marina, I named all the ducks and could hold them, pat them and call them by name. That marina was another place to call home.


So when I got a call about my dream yacht needing a new owner to rebuild it from scratch, I was, for lack of a better term, stoked. My Hutton 28 became known as 'Mimpi Gratis,' or in English 'Free Dream,' and affectionately known as 'Mimpi.' This name developed after my dad told me this news, he said I know it's name 'gratis'. I instantly thought no it's 'Mimpi Gratis', my free dream, just like a free spirit. To elaborate, my family have been studying bits of Bahasa Indonesia since I was little, and key words like gratis are often mixed with English at home.


Mimpi arrived at the start of a new chapter for me. I had just moved back to Australia from Indonesia, after an empowering six months of study. My return home brought a refocus on my dreams and goals that I've had since I was little. Sport will forever be my goal, but dreams are important too.


My Mimpi Gratis journey, like many journeys, is a long one. I will post photos and stories of before and after Mimpi's refit soon!




73 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page